Is there a story inside you?

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

― Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

If you are a writer, consider this for a moment. Why am I a writer? What do I want to achieve? Fame? Money? Do I want to entertain people or to just earn enough money for the rent? All these reasons are acceptable but they are not the real ones .

I will speak only for myself. Simply put, it is the urge to tell a story. When a thousand thoughts consume me and I’m bursting at the seams with ideas, I sit in front of my computer and write. I want to express my thoughts, my feelings and my troubles through a story. I want to see through the eyes of another person, one who lives in another world, who does different things but, at the end of the day, we are still one and the same . We share the same emotions, the same troubles and we see the world from the same perspective. Eventually, I get attached to this character and my only reason to write is to tell his (or her)  story.

It doesn’t matter if you are a writer or a reader. The question is the same: why do you write or read a story? Maybe there is something untold deep inside you that you need to explore. Possibly, there is a story that needs to be told, by you or someone else.

One thought on “Is there a story inside you?

  1. Writing can be a psychological purge. It can also bring into this world a story emulating feelings and experiences others can share. Writing allows us to think and feel. It educates. It provides empathy and love, hate. It provides outlook on people and places we may have never known existed. Writing and reading those written words allows us to never feel alone. There is also artistry in words and sentence structure where even the simplest line can be packed with meaning. Writing rules.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

